If You’ve Not Been to South Africa

If You’ve Not Been to South Africa

If you’ve not been to South Africa,
You’ve never felt warmth.
Its summer breeze and winter breeze so much alike.

If you’ve never been to South Africa,
You’ve never seen tall, fancy buildings,
Movie theaters, or warm and cozy hotels.

If you’ve not been to South Africa,
You’ve never seen weird animals,
Like zebra, lions, baboons, birds of prey, water buffalo,
Small and big dogs, black dogs everywhere, brave dogs,
And adorable puppies.

If you’ve never been to South Africa,
You’ve never smelt the ocean breeze,
Warm evenings, and that smell of fish hook.

My legs are animals running.
I can smell the ocean breeze,
My body is the tall buildings.
My arms are swishing as the ocean.
That’s why I’m from South Africa.

4 thoughts on “If You’ve Not Been to South Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *